Skip to content

Book Review: Wish you were here yet? by James Crookes

It’s just turned 9pm on Tuesday, I’m in bed in my part time home (a hotel in Newcastle), I had every intention of a ridiculously early night but instead I’ve jumped straight on my laptop after just finishing Wish you were here yet? By James Crookes.

Yes, I have three other books waiting to be reviewed but this one simply couldn’t wait!

This is the third book in the series by James Crookes and it’s as good as its predecessors.

I’m not going to waste time by recapping books one and two. All you need to know is that this series started from a simple thought, “what if Bob Geldof had never seen the news report that sparked Band Aid ‘Do they know it’s Christmas’ and consequently Live Aid?”.

Book one see’s siblings Jamie and Tash accidentally travel back to 1984 and break it. 

That could have been the end of their time travelling adventures but for various different reasons they keep finding themselves back in 1984 with Raymond and Maureen…..

From the back…

How long can Tash tolerate 1984? And how about 1985…in another country?

The reluctant time travellers are spending one final Christmas together – although only one of them knows it. So, why the hell can’t that be straightforward, either? And do Raymond and Maureen need to be part of every single thing?

Could you play cupid to your brother or sister? And how long would you throw at it? Thirty-four years?

Grab your passport, this is going to take some time…

Wish you were here yet? Has everything that drew me in to this series in the first place.

It’s got the 80s nostalgia I love!

It’s funny.

And it’s filled with characters I adore.

Jamie and Tash once again find themselves in ridiculous scenarios, dragging the long-suffering Raymond and his wife Maureen along with them, only this time they’re dragging them to Menorca in July 1985 (great month and great year).

I don’t want to say anything that may give away spoilers to this book or the previous two but this jaunt to Menorca is not for a holiday….they’re on a very specific mission and true Jamie and Tash style, it’s not going to plan.

I love the observations in this book.

Because yes, everyone’s bought a dodgy t-shirt on holiday. Yes, woodchip wallpaper was king in the 80s, along with avocado green bathrooms. Yes, ‘We are the world’ really is a bloody long song and yes, Brits really are a bit weird.

I love the interactions between the two different generations. Jamie and Tash trying to explain what 2020 is like to people in the 1980s. Raymond and Maureen being utterly perplexed by what they’re hearing, the cultural references that go completely over their heads. 

It’s the observational comedy that really stands out to me; yes, I laugh at the slapstick situations these characters get themselves into but it’s those little observations that really sum up Britain – past and present – that have me laughing, smiling in recognition at fond memories.

Admittedly, I don’t often read a book series.

In fact, I think the last series I completed was possibly The Hunger Games and that’s going back years. I often lose interest towards the end of a series; the characters start to annoy me part way through.

So far, that hasn’t happened here.

I like how these stories are, to an extent, stand alone. Each book wraps itself up. The end may tease of more to come but ultimately the story does finish.

When it comes to the characters, I probably like them more now than I did at the beginning. I’ve got to know them better, I know their quirks and personalities. I enjoy reading about their capers and mishaps, I’ve loved seeing this unlikely foursome become a family. 

I adore Jamie – he has Asperger’s –  I love how literal he is, he has a huge heart. He always tries to do the right thing; his plans often go very wrong, but he is steadfast in his desire to do good.

I love the relationship between him and Tash. They bicker like teenagers, she’s quite bolshy, she’s sarcastic and very short tempered but underneath all that she cares about her younger brother’s happiness. They’re best mates, they have each other’s backs, they love each other no matter how much they wind each other up.

These books are begging to be made into a TV series or a film. I can picture it; there’s a lot of dialogue in these books, so I can hear it; I’m dying to see it happen.

Anyway, if you’re after some light relief and aren’t we all? I’d recommend diving into this series to spend time with Jamie, Tash, Raymond, Maureen and others they meet along the way, you won’t regret it.

In the meantime, I’ll eagerly await book four and news of any potential adaptations….

radiosarahc View All

Journalist, writer, traveller, music lover, collector of hats, news addict, bookworm

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Wish you were here yet? by James Crookes Leave a comment

  1. I haven’t heard of this book or the others but they sound really fun and perfect if you loved the 80s. It sounds like a book I would try and read. Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts.

    Lauren.

    Like

Leave a comment