Skip to content

April in books| Mini reviews

Here we are at the end of another month!

I’ve had a decent April when it comes to books, with a few that are contenders for my favourite reads of the year and most of them are debut novels.

Impossible by Sarah Lotz

A rom com unlike any I’ve ever read before.

It’s packed with great characters and really has fun with the genre….best enjoyed with a tube of pringles!

Read my full review HERE 

The keeper of stories by Sally Page 

The simple idea that everyone has a story to tell (they really do).

Poignant and uplifting….read this at a time when I was eavesdropping a lot on my commute and heard ALL SORTS

Full review HERE 

Memphis by Tara M Stringfellow

Completely absorbing tale about three generations of women from the same family.

So vivid it made me amend my US road trip route to spend more time in Memphis.

Full review HERE 

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

Fabulous book that takes aim at sexism and misogyny in 1960s America.

It really shouldn’t still be relevant today but here we are. Read it and cheer all the way for Elizabeth Zott, an absolute heroine!

Full review HERE

How to kill your family by Bella Mackie

One for fans of black comedy, a lead character who’s a pyscho and reminded me a little of Villanelle from Killing Eve.

Outrageous, dark and really funny.

Read my full review HERE 

One day I shall astonish the world by Nina Stibbe 

Admittedly I’ve not quite finished this tale of friendship just yet, and I am finding it a bit of slog so far.

We will see how I feel come the final page.

After a healthy April, I’m back on track with my reading goal for the year.

My plan for May is to clear some of the books off my ever growing back list and not buy any new releases, I’ll more than likely fail.

Happy reading x

radiosarahc View All

Journalist, writer, traveller, music lover, collector of hats, news addict, bookworm

7 thoughts on “April in books| Mini reviews Leave a comment

  1. What a great selection of books you’ve read in April! After reading your review on Memphis I’ve placed it onto my TBR list, can’t wait to do a book haul as that will be firmly on it! I really like the sound of How to Kill Your Family, off to give your review a read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment